Vice-Chancellor's Message

Welcome to Egerton University. Egerton University is the premier agricultural public university in Kenya. However, it has broadened to other areas of research and teaching, such as Natural Resources, Applied Sciences, Education, Computer Science, Medical Science, Engineering and Business Studies.

The University is composed of three Campuses, namely Njoro Campus, Nakuru Town Campus College and Nairobi City Campus. Nakuru Town Campus College and Nairobi City Campus are both non- residential.

Currently, the University offers 63 undergraduate, 46 Masters, and 36 Doctorate degree programmes and 8 diploma programmes in its various faculties.

Unique Programmes

The University also offers unique programmes. Among them is the 2+2 twining programme with Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo, USA. In this programme, students undertake a West Michigan curriculum for two years at Egerton University and proceed for another two years in West Michigan University.

Another unique programme is the collaborative Masters in Applied Agricultural Economics, where students undertake one semester of course work at the University of Pretoria during their second year of study.


A world class University for the advancement of humanity


To offer exemplary education to society and generate knowledge for national and global development.


Egerton University innovatively influences human development through holistic education and generation, acquisition, preservation and dissemination of knowledge and skills, with emphasis on Agriculture and related disciplines. The University provides equal opportunity in producing competitive and hands-on graduates that contributes to national and global development.

Since its inauguration, Egerton University has continued to expand. It has 42 departments in nine faculties with 1,932 staff members and about 20,000 students pursuing various undergraduate, diploma, and postgraduate degree programmes.

Flagship Projects

The University has committed itself to undertake three flagship projects in line with the Vision 2030. The projects have been incorporated into the Performance Contract for implementation with effect from the Financial Year 2011/2012. These projects are explained below.

i) The Agro-Based Science Park (Agro Park)

This project was chosen on the basis of the University’s long tradition of agricultural training and research in the East and Central African Region. Once fully operational, the Agro Park will provide infrastructure for generation and transformation of innovation into products and services for commercialization in partnership with the industry. Among the milestone achievements since its inception are the development of three new high-yielding bean varieties, namely Tasha, Chelalang and Ciankui. The University is partnering with two seed companies for commercialization of the seeds.

In addition, the University has developed a new draught- resistant chick pea.

ii) Rehabilitation of Njoro River

Kenya has identified five flagship projects for the environment to be implemented as part of its Vision 2030 programme. One of them is the Water Catchment Management Initiative, which calls for the rehabilitation of five water towers in the country, i.e. the Mau Escarpment, Mt. Kenya, the Aberdare Ranges, the Cherangani Hills and Mt. Elgon. The University has committed itself to rehabilitate the Njoro River, which is faced with many problems, including wanton destruction of indigenous riparian vegetation in the catchment and along the river banks all the way to Lake Nakuru; solid waste disposal in the river (including plastics and organic materials that are likely to endanger human health); unplanned settlements along the river; deterioration of water quality as a result of organic and inorganic pollution; farming up to the river banks; and increased sediment loads due to soil erosion, sand harvesting and subsequent deposition into Lake Nakuru.

iii) The Chemeron Dryland Research, Training and Eco Tourism Centre.

The University has committed itself to rebrand the current Chemeron Field Station (which is based in Baringo County) into the Chemeron Dryland Research, Training and Eco- Tourism Centre.

About Us

Egerton University was founded in 1939 and was originally named Egerton Farm School. It was established by a large land grant of 740 acres donated by Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton. The school's original purpose was to prepare white European youth for careers in agriculture. By 1955, the name had changed to Egerton Agricultural College. A one-year certificate course and a two-year diploma course in agriculture were offered. In 1958, Lord Egerton donated another 1,100 acres of land.

Soon afterward, the college opened its doors to people of all races from Kenya and other African countries. In 1987, the College was finally recognized as a Chartered Public University.

pornliz suckpornporndickpornstereo