Department of Reproductive Health


Dr. Norman Kiiru Njogu


Lecturer and Chairman

Department of Reproductive Health


The Faculty of Health Science has been offering training in Reproductive Health since the introduction of Clinical Medicine and Surgery Diploma program in 1999.  With the inception of the Bachelor’s degree program in Medicine and Surgery in 2007 Reproductive Health as a unit was under the larger Department of Surgery and Reproductive Health. On 24th August 2012, an independent Department of Reproductive Health was established.

The Department is located at the Faculty of Health Science in Milimani, Nakuru. The teaching staffs include 2 Senior Lecturers and 3 Lecturers.  The Nakuru Provincial

General Hospital Gynaecologists serve as honorary lecturers in the department.
The department offers Reproductive Health training in the following programs
•    Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery
•    Bachelor of Science in Clinical Medicine
•    Diploma in Clinical Medicine and Surgery
•    BSc Nursing
The department places emphasis on its three main pillars that include training, research and services provision.
To achieve these, the department is in the process of developing a postgraduate curriculum in Obstetrics and Gynaecology. The objective is to provide specialized training in Reproductive Health which will impact on the attainment of the Millennium Development Goal on Maternal Health and Vision 2030. The teaching staff members are actively involved in service provision at the Provincial General Hospital.
Finally the Department acknowledges the University administration for the continued support, the Dean Faculty of Health Science for her guidance and the Ministry of Health for allowing us to utilize the Rift Valley Provincial General Hospital as the teaching hospital. We appreciate our former and current students and look forward to nurturing and inspiring others who shall pass through our department.

Dr. Norman K. Njogu MBChB , MMed Obs/Gyn (UoN)

pornliz suckpornporndickpornstereo