Psychology, Counseling and Education Foundations

The Department is an active contributor to teaching, research, and dissemination of knowledge at Egerton University and beyond. We have experts in a variety of areas (broadly Psychology and Educational Foundations) who are involved in the provision of academic services and generation of new knowledge in their disciplines. We have several programmes in the specific areas but we are also very much involved in the servicing of students in other programmes particularly those in Education, Community Development, Sociology, Medicine and Military Science.

Since its inception in 1967, under the Department of Agricultural Education and Extension, this department was later separated as a stand- alone department in 1992 and named as the Department of Educational Psychology and Counselling.  At the same time, the Department of Educational Foundations was crated as an independent department. However, in 2005 these two departments were merged as one as a result of University restructuring initiative, thus giving rise to the department of Psychology, Counselling and Educational Foundations.

Across the two wide disciplines, the Department trains individuals at Undergraduate Degree level, Masters Degree level and Doctoral Degree level. Presently, the department has programmes in Njoro Campus (Main Campus), Nakuru Town Campus College, and Nairobi City Campus. The department offers the following programmes namely; Bachelor of Psychology, Bachelor of Education in Early Childhood Education and Development ( B,Ed ECDE), Master of Education in Guidance and Counselling, Master of Education in Counselling Psychology, Master of Education in Measurement and Evaluation and Master of Education in Educational Foundations. Doctor of Philosophy degrees are offered in four programmes as provided thereof under the Masters programmes.